Sada je: 29 ožu 2024, 07:21.
Razne diskusije o Linuxu, neovisno o distribuciji.

Moderator/ica: Moderatori/ce

This is the last interview of the trinity series and in this interview we spoke with Laura Lucas Alday the woman power behind the latest release of Cheese. She was responsible for enhancing cheese to support svg overlays. Laura finds GNU/Linux better than Windows.

Swapnil: Could you please tell more about yourself, who you are and your technical background?
Laura: I'm a full-time programmer living in Buenos Aires. I'm the mother of a small kid. I worked in several companies developing desktop software for MS Windows. The language I used most is C++, I'm familiar with a varied array of technologies, tools and languages. Other interests are the visual arts.

Swapnil: When did you start using computers?
Laura: I was 13 when my older brother asked our parents to buy our first computer, an Atari 1040 ST (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atari_ST). I used it to play games, mostly. Some of my schoolmates had Commodore 64s at the time, there I wrote the only lines of code I knew:
10 PRINT "Laura"
20 GOTO 10

Those lines were all I knew about programming for many years, I wish now I found learning material that interested me more by then. My cousins had ZX Spectrums but I wasn't too interested.

When I was 19 my brother bought a modem, we had a 486 with a monochrome CTR monitor by then, and reading/writing messages in FidoNet and chatting live in BBSs (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bulletin_board_system) through the phone line was what really started everything, I became interested in computers.

Swapnil: When was the first time you came across Free Software and GNU/Linux?
Laura: I think by 1997 or 1998 I started to hear about it.

Swapnil: There is a myth that GNU/Linux is for geeks, what do you say? Is GNU/Linux cool for girls?